Maloney Leads No. 10 Men's XC to 20th Straight NEWMAC Championship

Maloney Leads No. 10 Men's XC to 20th Straight NEWMAC Championship


- Location: Boston, Mass. (Franklin Park)

- The Lead: Led by individual champion and NEWMAC Runner of the Year Dennis Maloney (New Albany, Ohio), the No. 10 ranked MIT men's cross country team claimed its 20th straight NEWMAC Championship with a total of 18 points over the 8K course at Franklin Park. The Engineers are the only team to win the NEWMAC men's title in the 20-year history of the event.


- Maloney led from start to finish to earn his first career NEWMAC title as he crossed in a time of 25:03 to win by a 29-second margin. In addition to Maloney earning NEWMAC Runner of the Year honors, Jake Oeding (Bloomington, Ind.) finished in 17th place with a time of 26:35 as he was named the NEWMAC Rookie of the Year.

- Junior Josh Rosenkranz (Glencoe, Ill.) finished second in 25:32, followed by senior Alex Knoedler (Canon City, Colo.) in third at 25:48. Senior Nicholas Waltman (Lexington, Ky.) was the fourth MIT finisher in fifth overall, while sophomore Brian Bates (Corning, N.Y.) was the final scoring runner in seventh at 26:06.

- Junior Aidan Gilson (Florence, Mass.) crossed in eighth in a time of 26:06, followed by junior Alex Knapp (West Chester, Pa.) in ninth just one second back in 26:07. The final two Engineers outside of the top seven runners to earn All-Conference honors were sophomore Billy Woltz (Logan, Ohio) in 10th at 26:09, followed by senior David Walter (Middleville, Mich.) in 11th in a time of 26:13.


- MIT is back in action on Saturday, November 11th as the Engineers travel to Gorham, Maine for the NCAA New England Regional Championship. The men's race begins at 11 a.m. MIT enters the event as the defending champion and will be in search of its third overall regional title.


- For the latest on MIT Athletics, follow the Engineers via social media on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.