MIT Cross Country Sweeps NEWMAC Championships

MIT Cross Country Sweeps NEWMAC Championships

Oct. 27, 2007

Complete Results

NORTHAMPTON, Mass. - For the third time in the history of the NEWMAC Cross Country Championship, one school came away with both league crowns. And for the third time, MIT secured the honors. The Engineers placed all five of their scorers among the top 15 on the women's side, while the men continued their dominance over the rest of the conference by securing 10 of first 12 finishers.

The women opened the morning championship in the rain, with MIT capturing its first victory at Conference since 2003. The Engineers totaled their lowest score in meet history, placing four runners on the all-conference team en route to 50 points. Wheaton College finished second overall with 72, while Wellesley totaled 106 points to finish third.

Sophomore Maria Monks finished fourth overall to lead the Cardinal and Gray, while Elizabeth Finn produced a great effort to finish fifth. Monks split 19:36 on the tough, 5000-meter course to close 27 seconds behind Smith sophomore and meet-winner Nora Youngs. Finn crossed the line just off Monks' pace with a clip of 19:38. Jennifer Doyle (12th) and Katy Gordon (14th) also copped all-conference honors, with Gordon securing additional accolades as the program's first NEWMAC Rookie of the Year. Junior Adrienne Bolger finished 15th in the field of 130 runners to cap the MIT scoring.

On the men's side it was business as usual for the Engineers. MIT stayed perfect at the NEWMAC Championships on Saturday, winning the team title for the 10th consecutive year. The Engineers nearly put two complete teams ahead of the field, paced by conference Runner of the Year, Jake Ruzevick. The junior from Coronado, Calif., unleashed a dominating performance, splitting 25:58 for the 8000-meter circuit.

Junior Yermie Cohen (26:21) out-kicked Coast Guard junior Mike Persun to give the Engineers the 1-2 finish, with MIT grabbing the next five spots. Senior Joseph Roy-Mayhew finished fourth overall in 26:29, while sophomores Hemagiri Arumugam and Jack Bourbonnais capped MIT's scoring after delivering season-best efforts.

Senior Brian Jacokes and junior Trevor Rundell tied for a seventh-place finish with a time of 26:37 to lead a second contingent of Tech harriers. Gihan Amarasiriwardena, who was tabbed NEWMAC Rookie of the Year, finished 10th overall with a clip of 26:43. Amarasiriwardena edged out teammate Paul Welle by two seconds for the league's top rookie honor. Chris Bruce also earned all-conference plaudits after a 12th-place finish, while the Engineers tied MIT's 2004 unit for the highest number of all-conference honors in the history of the meet.

MIT finished the day with 18 points, just three off the minimum. Coast Guard earned runner-up honors with 52 points and Springfield totaled 97 points to finish third.