Men's Cross Country Cruises to Ninth Consecutive NEWMAC Championship

Men's Cross Country Cruises to Ninth Consecutive NEWMAC Championship

Oct. 28, 2006

Complete Results

SOUTH HADLEY, Mass. - MIT placed all of its scorers among the top eight finishers and showcased eight of the top 14 individual performances in a dominating victory at the 2006 NEWMAC Cross Country Championships. The Engineers remained unscathed at the league championship, winning the race for the ninth consecutive year.

Coast Guard senior Mike Flint and MIT sophomore Jake Ruzevick entered Saturday's meet as the pre-race favorites and their one-two finish solidified their positions as the top two distance runners in the conference. Although Flint pulled away en route to NEWMAC Runner of the Year honors, Ruzevick's runner-up finish sparked a dominating team effort by the Cardinal and Gray.

Driving, windy rains significantly slowed race times across the board. Ruzevick crossed the finish line in 27:02 to earn second in the 110-runner field, while junior Joe Roy-Mayhew continued his strong season-ending surge by finishing fourth overall behind a clip of 27:19.

For the sixth consecutive Fall, MIT sponsored the league's Rookie of the Year. Finishing fifth overall on Saturday, freshman Johannes Schneider took top rookie honors for the 2006 season. Senior Kevin Brulois finished seventh, while freshman Jake Bourbannais capped the MIT scoring with an eighth-place finish.

The Engineers continued well beyond their scoring contingency, getting a 10th-place effort from sophomore Trevor Rundell, a 12th-place effort from junior Chris Bruce, and a 14th-place finish from junior Chris Wong.

MIT finished with 26 points en route to the team title, while Coast Guard finished second after out-dueling Springfield by one point (63-64).