Engineers Notch Eighth NEWMAC Championship Victory

Engineers Notch Eighth NEWMAC Championship Victory

Oct. 29, 2005


NORTHAMPTON, Mass. - For the eighth time in any as many years, MIT was the crowning champion at the NEWMAC Championships. The Engineers have placed first of seven teams in the conference race every year since entering the NEWMAC in 1998. Eric Khatchadourian carried the momentum of an 11th place finish last weekend at the Albany Invitational into Saturday's race, as he led MIT with a second place run. Coast Guard junior Michael Flint, who was named NEWMAC Runner of the Year, was the individual winner. Finishing sixth was MIT freshman Jake Ruzevick, who was named the NEWAC Rookie of the Year.

MIT placed five harriers in the top nine en route to a slim victory over Coast Guard. Finishing behind Khatchadourian and also earning NEWMAC All-Conference Team honors for MIT was senior Kevin Brulois (third), senior Fivos Constantinou (fifth), freshman Jake Ruzevick (sixth), and junior Spencer Dudley (ninth). Freshman Trevor Rundell (12th) and Joe Roy-Mayhew (13th) also ran well for MIT and were named to the NEWMAC All-Conference Team.

MIT next runs in the NCAA Division III New England Regional Championships on Saturday, November 12th in Springfield, Mass.