No. 22 MIT Wins Seventh Consecutive NEWMAC Cross Country Championship

No. 22 MIT Wins Seventh Consecutive NEWMAC Cross Country Championship

Oct. 30, 2004

Complete Results

WATERFORD, Conn. - Senior All-America Ben Schmeckpeper led one of MIT's most dominating performances at the NEWMAC Cross Country Championships with a crushing victory that resulted in the Engineers' seventh consecutive team championship. Schmekpeper broke the tape in 25:07, hammering out a 45-second victory for the individual title.

MIT totaled 23 points in Saturday's win, the lowest score for Tech's championship teams since Dan Feldman and Chris McGuire's one-two punch capped MIT's second league banner in 1999. Schmeckpeper became the fourth MIT harrier to win the inidividual title and the Institute's sixth champion in seven career races. Wheaton All-America Stan Pyle defeated Schmeckpeper at last year's final, although the MIT senior enjoyed a convincing victory in this season's rematch.

Ranked No. 22 in the Division III National Poll, MIT has relied on a strong supporting cast to remain among the nation's elite. In Waterford, the Engineers swept fourth through eighth in the individual standings, completing their top-five scoring before any other squad could finish its second man.

Leading the chase pack for MIT was Carlos Renjifo, who earned his highest career finish at NEWMAC's with a time of 26:24. Junior Fivos Constantinou finished fifth (26:27), while freshman Kevin Brulois (26:30) and Eric Khatchadourian (26:35) finished sixth and seventh, respectivley to complete the scoring. John Brewer gave MIT some added insurance with an eighth-place finish.

The U.S. Coast Guard Academy finished second to the Engineers with 52 points. Springfield College (87) closed in third, while Wheaton totaled 100 points en route to fourth place in the team standings.