Lightweight Women’s Four takes Bronze at Knecht Cup Regatta

Lightweight Women’s Four takes Bronze at Knecht Cup Regatta

CHERRY HILL, NJ -- The MIT Varsity Lightweight Women's Four secured a bronze medal at the Knecht Cup Regatta on Sunday, April 10th.  The crew finished ahead of Wisconsin, Lafayette and Susquehanna to place third overall in the event.  The boat advanced to the final after Saturday's qualifying heats with the fourth fastest overall time in the heats.  On Sunday, racing from lane 1, the crew battled with Wisconsin through the first 1500 meters before making a decisive move and charging ahead to secure third place with a time of 8:21.3.  Loyola, the 2010 IRA Varsity Lightweight Four Champion, won the event in 8:11.1.  Members of the MIT boat also raced in the varsity lightweight eight event on Saturday as part of the MIT "B" entry. 

In the Varsity Lightweight Eight event, the Engineers "A" entry took sixth overall in the final on Sunday morning, losing out on fifth place by 1/100 of a second to Buffalo.  In the qualifying heats on Saturday, Tech advanced to the final by rowing to a third-place finish in the heat with a time of 7:10.2.  Rowing in the final from lane 6, Tech raced side by side with Buffalo and Wisconsin B before finishing sixth with a time of 7:15.52 to Buffalo's 7:15.51 and Wisconsin B's 7:12.17.  Wisconsin "A" won the event in a time of 6:57.65. 


For complete results, visit:


Next up, the Engineers take on Buffalo at home on Saturday and Stanford on Sunday. 


Varsity Lightweight Four "A":

Coxswain:             Emily Chen

Stroke:                   Sara Ferry

Three:                    Victoria McCrave

Two:                       Emma Jeffries

Bow:                      Lauren McGough


Varsity Lightweight Four "B":


Coxswain:             Dominique Forestier

Stroke:                   Charlotte Herhold

Three:                    Kristen Railey

Two:                       Charlotte Kirk

Bow:                      Camille DeJarnett


First Varsity Lightweight Eight "A":


Coxswain:             Man-Yan Lam

Stroke:                   Meredith Lis

Seven:                    Lizzy Wei

Six:                         Clare Flanagan

Five:                       Katie Inman

Four:                      Sabine Schneider

Three:                    Lauren Ayers

Two:                       Melody Kuna

Bow:                      Paige Pinkelstein


Second Varsity Lightweight Eight "B":


Coxswain:             Emily Chen

Stroke:                   Sara Ferry

Seven:                    Victoria McCrave

Six:                         Chelsea Lyons

Five:                       Christine Park

Four:                      Emma Jeffries

Three:                    Lauren Stephens

Two:                       Juliann Lajoie

Bow:                      Lauren McGough