Men’s and Women’s Lightweight Crew to Row at IRA National Championship

Men’s and Women’s Lightweight Crew to Row at IRA National Championship

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The MIT men's and women's lightweight crew teams will take part in the Intercollegiate Rowing Association (IRA) national championship beginning on Thursday, May 31 through Saturday, June 2 on the Cooper River in Camden County, N.J. The women's squad will field an eight and a four at the regatta while the men have a four entered.

The heats for the women's lightweight eight and lightweight four will take place on Friday morning, with the V8  races scheduled for 8:30 and 8:45 a.m. and the V4 to follow at 9:00 and 9:15 a.m. Repechage rounds will take place on Friday afternoon at 12:45 and 1:00 p.m. The Varsity 4 grand final will go off at 8:06 a.m. on Saturday and the Varsity 8 grand final is scheduled at 11:00 a.m. Saturday.

For the women, the IRA regatta will mark the conclusion of the careers for five Tech seniors, including Meredith Lis, who has rowed in the Varsity 8 all four years in Cambridge. The other seniors on the squad are Lauren Ayers, , Lauren McGough, Nidhi Kulkarni and Elizabeth Wei.

The men's lightweight four will race in preliminary heats on Saturday morning, beginning at 7:30 a.m. The petite final will begin at 12:00 p.m. and be followed by the grand final at 12:15 p.m.

The Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) will serve as host of the IRA national championship and will offer live streaming video throughout the weekend. Live video can be accessed here. Live results will also be available during the regatta, click here to view.

Boat Lineups

Women's Lightweight – 1st Varsity 8

Coxswain Emily Chen
8     Kathleen Inman
7 Sophia Seidell
6 Lauren Ayers
5 Meredith Lis
4 Katie O'Neal
3 Catherine Gorick
2 Elizabeth Wei
1 Amelia Mockett

Women's Lightweight – Varsity 4

Coxswain     Elizabeth Schanne
4 Chandler Burfield
3 Stephanie Chen
2 Lauren McGough
1 Nidhi Kulkarni

Men's Lightweight – Varsity 4

Coxswain     Henry Skupniewicz
4 Stephen Freiberg
3 Peter Augusciak
2 Cameron McAlpine
1 David Danko