Women’s Lightweight Crew Opens Season at Head of the Charles

Women’s Lightweight Crew Opens Season at Head of the Charles

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – On a sunny autumn day in New England the MIT women's lightweight crew team opened its 2013-14 season at the annual Head of the Charles regatta. As they did last year, the Engineers had entries in the Women's Lightweight Fours and the Women's Lightweight Eights, with both teams posting solid results to kick off the season.

First up was the lightweight fours crew that had the last starting spot in the 15-boat field. MIT started with a first split of 5:09 at Riverside and later picked up the pace, clocking a 5:50 at Cambridge Boat Club. In the end the team came in with a 21:09.275 that was good for 11th and was just a little over a second behind an entry from the Ottawa Boat Club from Canada. The team was a little less than two minutes off the winning time set by a team from Western University in Canada. 

In the eights race the MIT crew got off to a 4:24 start at the first split, which was eighth among the nine boats in the field. The Engineers could not make up any ground on the field over the rest of the three-mile course and stayed in eighth at the finish, stopping the clock at 18:28.838, which put MIT ahead of the second Radcliffe crew, and finishing behind a team from Princeton. The Engineers were 1:23 off the winning time turned in by team from the Minerva Rowing Club in the Netherlands.

MIT will continue its fall season on Saturday, November 2 when it races at the Dartmouth Green Monster Invitational.

Boat Lineup

Women's Club Fours

Coxswain         Joyce Hong

Stroke              Catherine Potter

3                      Sarah Brennan

2                      Zoe Steier

Bow                 Amelia Mockett

Women's Lightweight Eights

Coxswain         Emily Chen

Stroke              Sharon Wu

7                      Katie Gorick

6                      Anne Kim

5                      Ella Branch

4                      Lauren Rotkovitz

3                      Jamie Voros

2                      Marissa Stephens

Bow                 Priya Veeraraghaven