UMass and MIT Share Spoils In Competitive Head-to-Head Clash

UMass and MIT Share Spoils In Competitive Head-to-Head Clash

April 17, 2007

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - The University of Massachusetts enjoyed a strong performance against MIT's lightweight crew team on Saturday, securing a comfortable win in the varsity eight after enduring a staunch test early in the race by the Engineers. Tech's novice unit responded with a dominating victory.

After already competing in the eight's race on Saturday, the MIT novice lightweight women broke up into four's and raced against the University of Massachusetts on the powerhouse stretch of the Charles River. MIT raced two four's, while UMass entered one boat for the event.

After a quick and even start by all three boats, the race was pretty, the MIT A four began to move out in front about one minute into the circuit. At the midpoint, the Engineers top unit had established a significant lead, while UMass and MIT B were fighting it out stroke for stroke.

According to Coach Claire Kostrzewski, "It was great to see such a close fought race with each crew really going for it."

In the end, MIT's A boat won with a time of 4:06.0, while the Minutemen secured the runner-up finish in a narrow victory over the Cardinal and Gray's second entry. UMass closed with a time of 4:15.3 and MIT B crossed the line in 4:15.7.

In the varsity eight event, UMass was once again victorious against MIT in another hard fought battle. After enduring high winds and difficult conditions for the first 1000 meters of the race, both squads appeared to be neck-and-neck. Over the second half of the race, UMass slowly began to move out on the Engineers. While MIT regained water in its sprint to the finish, UMass held on and got the win with a time of 8:54.9. Tech closed in 9:03.4.

MIT Varsity Eight
Coxswain: Ainsley Braun
8: Erqi Liu
7: Emily Dykgraaf
6: Kate Madden
5: Kathryn Schumaker
4: Jessica Lynch
3: Sarah Gelman
2: Loretta Trevino
Bow: Tiffany Iaconis

MIT Novice Four A
Coxswain: Mindy Du
Stroke: Xuefeng Chen
3: Aubrey Tatarowicz
2: Karen Sun
Bow: Sarah Wilder

MIT Novice Four B 
Coxswain: Minna Du
Stroke: Kim Jackson
3: Jenn Toyzer
2: Shan Tie
Bow: Bernice Huang

For complete results, please visit Next weekend, the Engineers race Radcliffe on the Charles River.