Saxton-Fox Claims Patriot League Scholar-Athlete of the Year Honor

Saxton-Fox Claims Patriot League Scholar-Athlete of the Year Honor

Center Valley, Pa. - A student-athlete from Massachusetts Institute of Technology won a major Patriot League honor for the first time on Wednesday as junior Theresa Saxton-Fox was named the Rowing Scholar-Athlete of the Year while also landing on a list of 11 rowers that comprised the sport's inaugural Academic All-Patriot League Team. Joining Fox on the Academic All-Patriot League was junior Allison Simi.

The Patriot League Scholar-Athlete of the Year award is the highest honor the League bestows upon a student-athlete in each sport.  Student-athletes are nominated by their institution and voted upon by the media relations staff at all participating institutions.

 Saxton-Fox has been a member of MIT's varsity eight boat in each of her three seasons. She was a Division I CRCA National Scholar-Athlete in 2010 and becomes MIT's first Scholar-Athlete of the Year winner in the school's second season as an associate Patriot League member in the sport of women's rowing.

Saxton-Fox has a long line of athletic, academic and extracurricular achievements at MIT. The native of Wayland, Mass. has accumulated a 4.9 grade-point average on a 5.0 scale (3.92/4.0 GPA). She serves as President of MIT's Engineers Without Borders, which engineers solutions to issues in developing countries. She has overseen projects on water accessibility, alternative cooking fuels and individual shower units for slums as well as fundraising activities. She was awarded a Public Service Center (PSC) Fellowship to travel to Uganda as the team's project manager, where she worked with local customs officials to import solar panels into Uganda. Saxton-Fox is a researcher at the High Power pumped heat exchanger lab at MIT and a team member in the Design and Manufacturing II Lab.

Simi carries a 4.8/5.0 (3.84/4.0) grade-point average to join Saxton-Fox as an Academic All-Patriot League honoree from MIT. The junior also earned CRCA National Scholar-Athlete status last season.

The Patriot League Scholar-Athlete of the Year for each individual sport comprises the pool of nominees for the Patriot League Male and Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards given out over the summer. One male and one female are selected for this honor. To be eligible for the Scholar-Athlete of the Year award and the Academic All-Patriot League Team, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative grade point average and be a starter or key player in his/her sport. Freshmen or students in their first academic year at their school are not eligible for the honor.

The awards were voted on by sports information directors around the League who could not cast a ballot for their own student-athletes. The Academic All-Patriot League Team has been added for all sports beginning in the 2010-11 season to honor additional student-athletes who excel both on and off the field.

Patriot League champion Bucknell led all schools with three student-athletes on the Academic All-Patriot League team, with Jillian O'Mara, Stephanie Frank and Carol Schoenecker making the list. Colgate (Natalie Bauman and Katherine Johnescu) and Holy Cross (Kate Broderick and Beth Charron) also had a pair of nominees. Lehigh's Jackie Ogden and Navy's Jacqueline Penichet round out the Academic All-Patriot League team.

Patriot League Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Theresa Saxton-Fox, MIT

Rowing Academic All-Patriot League
Jillian O'Mara, Bucknell, Jr.
Stephanie Frank, Bucknell, Sr.
Carol Schoenecker, Bucknell, Sr.
Natalie Bauman, Colgate, So.
Katherine Johnescu, Colgate, Jr.
Kate Broderick, Holy Cross, Jr.
Beth Charron, Holy Cross, Jr.
Jackie Ogden, Lehigh, Sr.
Theresa Saxton-Fox, MIT, Jr.
Allison Simi, MIT, Jr.
Jacqueline Penichet, Navy, So.