MIT Finishes Third at Patriot League Championship

MIT Finishes Third at Patriot League Championship

CAMDEN COUNTY, N.J. – The MIT women's openweight crew had the most successful showing in its three years as a member of the Patriot League at the conference championship regatta on Sunday morning on the Cooper River in New Jersey. The Engineers placed third in the team standings, behind the U.S. Naval Academy and defending champion, Bucknell University, after back-to-back fifth-place finishes in 2010 and 2011. The Varsity 8 took second, just over two seconds behind Bucknell.

The Patriot League Championship is scored on a weighted system. Points are greatest for the Varsity Eight race with totals of 18-15-12-9-6-3 by position, while the Second Varsity Eight is scored at 12-10-8-6-4-2 and the finishers in the Varsity Four race get scored 6-5-4-3-2-1. Bucknell earned 34 points, winning both the V8 and V4 races and coming in second in the 2nd Varsity 8. Navy had 29 points while the Engineers were just behind with 25 points. Holy Cross (20 points), Lehigh University (9) and Colgate University (8) rounded out the six team championship field.

In the first race of the day, the Varsity 4 boat placed third out of five boats with a time of 8:28.31, coming in ahead of the crew from Lehigh.

In the second Varsity 8, MIT was fourth out of six, finishing with a time of 7:18.82, just two seconds slower than Holy Cross and ahead of Lehigh and Colgate.

The Varsity 8 race was by far the best showing of the day for Tech, as MIT moved up from its fifth-place showing a year ago to the runner-up position. The Engineers' top crew finished with a time of 6:50.96, just 2.42 seconds slower than the winning eight from Bucknell.

The Engineers will compete in the Boston College Cup Race next weekend before finishing their season up at the EAWRC Sprints on May 13 back on the Cooper River. 

Boat Lineups

Women's Openweight – 1st Varsity 8

Coxswain     Grace Lin
8 Catherine Crowley
7 Allison Simi
6 Erin Meyer
5 Rebecca Heywood
4 Andrea Howell
3 Rebecca Taylor
2 Tess Saxton-Fox
1 Jean Sack

Women's Openweight – 2nd Varsity 8

Coxswain      Michelle Victora
8  Rebecca Jackson
7  Cliodhna McCarthy
6  Rebecca Fuhlbrigge
5  Annie LaBine
4  Carolyn Holz
3  Betsy Soukup
2  Brianna Woeckener
1  Samantha Hartzell

Women's Openweight – Varsity 4 "A"

Coxswain     Jessica Haskins
4  Joanie Weaver
3  Alycia Gardner
2  Madeleine Mott
1  Morgan Houston