Openweight Crew Wins Cup Race with Boston College

Openweight Crew Wins Cup Race with Boston College

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The MIT women's openweight crew team took on Boston College over the weekend and came out on top in the Varsity 8 and Varsity 4 races, in the squad's final tune-up before the EAWRC Sprints. With the head-to-head win, the Varsity 8 received the Boston College vs. MIT Cup for the second straight year and improved its overall won-loss record to 11-5 on the year. The Varsity 4 crew ran its ledger to 8-7 for the season.

The V8 finished with a time of 7:02.57, nearly nine seconds ahead of the Boston College crew. The V4 posted a time of 8:04.07, coming in ahead of a pair of BC boats. In the 2nd Varsity 8, MIT was just under four seconds back of the Eagles, with a time of 7:20.19. The 3rd Varsity 8 was second in 7:52.79.

On Sunday, May 13, Tech will compete in the EAWRC Sprints regatta in Cherry Hill, N.J. The Varsity 8 is seeded sixth headed into the event, MIT's highest-ever ranking.

Boat Lineups

Women's Openweight – 1st Varsity 8

Coxswain     Grace Lin
8 Catherine Crowley
7 Allison Simi
6 Erin Meyer
5 Rebecca Heywood
4 Andrea Howell
3 Rebecca Taylor
2 Tess Saxton-Fox
1 Jean Sack

Women's Openweight – 2nd Varsity 8

Coxswain      Michelle Victora
8  Rebecca Jackson
7  Cliodhna McCarthy
6  Brianna Woeckener
5  Annie LaBine
4  Rebecca Fuhlbrigge
3  Betsy Soukup
2  Carolyn Holz
1  Samantha Hartzell

Women's Openweight – Varsity 4

Coxswain     Jessica Haskins
4  Joanie Weaver
3  Alycia Gardner
2  Madeleine Mott
1  Morgan Houston

Women's Openweight – 3rd Varsity 8

Coxswain     Joanna So
8 Alice Huang
7  Amy Taylor
6  Elizabeth Shanahan
5 Rachel Clary
4  Colleen Meehl
3 Sydney Beasley
2 Carol Liu
1  Emilee Johnson