CRCA Names 12 MIT Rowers Scholar Athletes

CRCA Names 12 MIT Rowers Scholar Athletes

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – A total of 12 members of the MIT women's openweight and lightweight rowing teams were honored for their academic success by the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) when the organization released its list of Scholar Athletes for 2013. Seven members of the openweight team made the list and were joined by five rowers from the lightweight team.

To be eligible for the Scholar Athlete award a student-athlete must have met all of the eligibility rules as defined by her institution, be in their second, third or fourth year of eligibility, rowed in her institution's NCAA or IRA eligible boat(s) for a minimum of 75% of the spring races or racing in a regional conference event and had a 3.5 (4.0 scale) or higher cumulative GPA for her career.

Repeat winners for MIT from 2012 were rising seniors Samantha Hartzell (Hudson, Wis.) and Erin Meyer (Austin, Texas) of the openweight team and 2013 graduates Lauren Ayers (Portland, Maine) and Kathleen Inman (Indianapolis, Ind.) and rising senior Emily Chen (Nashua, N.H.) of the lightweight squad.

2013 Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association Scholar Athletes

Name                                         Major                                                                        Hometown

Openweight Crew

Samantha Hartzell                      Civil and Environmental Engineering                          Hudson, Wis.

Cliodhna McCarthy                     Mechanical Engineering                                             Hinsdale, Ill.

Erin Meyer                                  Mechanical Engineering                                             Austin, Texas

Madeleine Mott                           Electrical Engineering and Computer Science             Chevy Chase, Md.

Jean Sack                                  Mechanical Engineering and Music                            Eureka, Calif.

Betsy Soukup                             Mechanical Engineering                                             Sunnyside, N.Y.

Becca Taylor                              Chemistry                                                                 Ann Arbor, Mich.

Lightweight Crew

Lauren Ayers                              Nuclear Science and Engineering                               Portland, Maine

Chandler Burfield                        Mathematics and Management Science                      Naples, Fla.
Emily Chen                                 Brain and Cognitive Science                                      Nashua, N.H.

Katie Gorick                               Biological Engineering                                              Ashburn, Va.

Kathleen Inman                           Mechanical Engineering                                             Indianapolis, Ind.