Women’s Openweight Crew Opens Season at Head of the Charles

Women’s Openweight Crew Opens Season at Head of the Charles

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The annual Head of the Charles regatta officially kicked off the 2013-14 season for the MIT women's openweight crew team this weekend. The Engineers had a pair of entries in the world famous completion, with a boat in the Club 8 race on Saturday and a Championship 8 entry on Sunday.

On Saturday it was the Club 8 entry that kicked things off for the Engineers. One of 29 entries in the event, MIT started well with a 4:03 split at the Riverside Boat Club. The Engineers finished with a final 3:11 split that enabled them to edge out Northeastern in the final results, with MIT posting a final time of 17:56.444 that was good for 14th overall. 

Sunday afternoon under a sunny sky it was the Championship 8 boat's turn to navigate the course. MIT started slow, with their opening split ranking just 34th in the 39-team field. But the Engineers picked up the pace and bettered 15 other crews with their split at Weld. MIT went on to finish strong, posting a time of 18:10.472 that was good for 27th overall, finishing two seconds ahead of Old Dominion University and five seconds behind Rhode Island.

MIT will race again next weekend, traveling to New Jersey for the Princeton Chase on Saturday morning.


Boat Lineups

Women's Championship Eights

Coxswain         Michelle Victora         

Stroke              Kristen Manning

7                      Andie Howell

6                      Erin Meyer

5                      Betsy Soukup

4                      Eunice Wu

3                      Veronica Toro

2                      Becca Taylor

Bow                 Cliodhna McCarthy

Women's Club Eights

Coxswain         Joanna So      

Stroke              Katelyn Wolfenberger

7                      Brittany Johnson

6                      Gabriella Baracchini

5                      Miranda Kotidis

4                      McCall Huston

3                      Katherine Adler

2                      Isabella Sanders

Bow                 Francesca Schembri