Openweight Rows Against Northeastern and BC

Openweight Rows Against Northeastern and BC

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Despite the chill and rain in the air, the MIT women's openweight crew team took to the waters of the Charles River for a competition for the final time of the 2013-14 season, taking on crews from Northeastern and Boston College in a battle of local teams.

Unfortunately for the Engineers, the Eagles and Huskies had the better results in all of the races, with MIT finishing third in each event it had an entry in. In the Varsity 8 race it was Northeastern crossing the line first, followed by Boston College and then MIT, which finished nine seconds behind the Eagles with a 6:53.5 clocking. The top two finishes were reversed in the 2V8 competition, with the Engineers turning in a 7:16.8 to finish over 20 second off the pace of the second-place Northeastern team. Only BC and MIT competed in the 3V8 race, with the two Eagles crews finishing ahead of the Engineers' 7:29.0 which was eight seconds off the second-place time.

Boston College won the Varsity 4 competition, followed by Northeastern and MIT, which turned in a time of 8:11.0.

Next up for MIT will be the annual EAWRC Sprints that will be held on May 4 on the Cooper River in Cherry Hill, N.J.


Varsity 8:
Michelle Victora (cox)
Kristen Manning
Andie Howell
Erin Meyer
Veronica Toro
Maria Messick
Betsy Soukup
Becca Taylor
Maddie Noteware

Briana Chen (cox)
Gabriella Baracchini
Brittany Johnson
Larkin Sayre
Gianna Parella
Megan Eisele
Kirby Ledvina
McCall Huston
Katherine Adler

Jiwon Kim (cox)
Katelyn Wolfenberger
Francesca Schembri
Natalie Coleman
Molly Stephens
Maddie Mott
Katy Johnson
Bridget Bassi
Stephanie Bousleiman

Varsity Four:
Caitlyn Mason (cox)
Allie Erixxon
Elizabeth Glista
Isabella Sanders
Miranda Kotidis