Openweight Crew Takes Fourth at Patriot League Championships

Openweight Crew Takes Fourth at Patriot League Championships

WORCESTER, Mass. – It was a successful close to the 2013-14 regular season for the MIT openweight crew team at the Patriot League Championships toady on Lake Quinsigamond. The Engineers placed all three of their crews into the Grand Finals, with the Varsity 8 and Varsity 4 boats taking third in their races to help MIT to a fourth-place overall finish in the final standings with 38 points. Boston University won the title with 49 points, followed by Navy with 45 and Bucknell with 43 points.

In the morning heats the Varsity 8 crew took third in Heat 1, taking the final qualifying spot for the Grand Final with a time of 7:35.659 that was less than six second behind BU and less than four seconds ahead of Colgate. The second Varsity 8 crew also took the third and final qualifying spot in its heat, edging out Colgate for the last slot by seven seconds. In the Varsity 4 heats, MIT took third again, this time holding off Bucknell by seven seconds.

In the Varsity 8 finals it was a close race between the top four crews, with the group finishing within a seven second span of one another. BU took the race, with MIT finishing third just five seconds behind the Terries and a little more than a second behind Bucknell. The Varsity 4 team also finished third in their final, finishing 11 seconds behind Boston University and more than 10 seconds ahead of Georgetown. The second Varsity 8 boat took fifth in its final, nine seconds out of fourth behind Georgetown and getting to the line by almost 15 seconds ahead of Lehigh


Cox    Michelle Victora
8    Kristen Manning
7    Andie Howell
6    Erin Meyer
5    Betsy Soukup
4    Maria Messick
3    Maddie Noteware
2    Becca Taylor
1    Cliodhna McCarthy


Cox    Briana Chen
8    Gabriella Baracchini
7    Brittany Johnson
6    Megan Eisele
5    Veronica Toro
4    Larkin Sayre
3    Gianna Parella
2    McCall Huston
1    Katherine Adler

Cox    Caitlyn Mason
4    Allie Erixxon
3    Elizabeth Glista
2    Isabella Sanders
1    Miranda Kotidis