Six Engineers Named as CRCA National Scholar-Athletes

Six Engineers Named as CRCA National Scholar-Athletes

Cambridge, Mass. (June 14) -- Six members of the MIT women's openweight crew team have been named as Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) National Scholar-Athletes.

To be eligible for this award, a student-athlete must be in at least their second year of eligibility, rowed in 75 percent of the current spring races and hold a cumulative GPA of a 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale.

Senior Abbey Diener (Draper, Utah), sophomore Erica Flear (New York, N.Y.), sophomore Aigneis Frey (New Canaan, Conn.), junior Caitlin McCandler (St. Louis Park, Minn.), junior Audrey Pillsbury (Palos Verdes, Calif.) and senior Vickie Wang (Columbus, Ohio) were all honored for the 2017-18 season.

Diener is being recognized for the third straight year, while McCandler and Pillsbury earn this award for the second time. Flear, Frey and Wang are all first-time honorees.

All six student-athletes honored competed in the Patriot League Championship, including four in the V8 and 2V8 Grand Finals and two in the victorious V4 boat in the Petite Final.

For the latest on MIT Athletics, follow the Engineers via social media on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.