Cheryl Silva Earns NEWMAC Coach of the Year Honors

Cheryl Silva Earns NEWMAC Coach of the Year Honors

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - After helping MIT capture its first ever New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Field Hockey Tournament Championship on Sunday, Cheryl Silva was rewarded with the conference's Coach of the Year award, as voted on by the league's coaches. In addition to Silva's accolades, four Engineers were named to the All-Conference Team. Keri Dixon, Molly McShane and Anna Teruya picked up First Team plaudits while Kimberly Barker made the Second Team.

This is the second Coach of the Year honor for Silva, who helped the Cardinal and Grey capture the NEWMAC Championship for the first time in the league's 12 year history while also securing the program's first-ever bid into the NCAA Division III tournament. She also received the award in 1994. Under Silva's guidance, MIT has already set a new program record for wins in a season, with 17, while rattling off two separate win streaks of at least seven games, including its current eight-game run.

Dixon has developed into one of the league's top goaltenders, leading the NEWMAC in both goals against average (1.40) and shutouts (seven) while playing every minute in net for MIT the last two seasons.

McShane has been solid all season at midfield for the Cardinal and Grey, finishing tied for fourth on the team in scoring with seven goals and six assists on the year. The freshman recorded a pair of crucial assists in the NEWMAC title game win over Springfield.  

Teruya helped anchor a defense that surrendered the fewest goals in the NEWMAC, just 1.40 per game. The sophomore was also third on team in scoring with 12 goals and 29 points while earning two defensive saves.

Just a freshman, Barker was Tech's most prolific scorer all year. She set an Institute record for goals in a season (19), a mark that had stood since 1980. She also finished second in the league in goals and fourth in points.

The Engineers will travel to Nichols College on Wednesday, November 11 for their First Round NCAA Tournament game beginning at 4:00 p.m.