Four Engineers Earn Field Hockey All-Region Honors

Four Engineers Earn Field Hockey All-Region Honors

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Matching its total from a year ago, the MIT field hockey team had four players selected to the National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) All-Region team, as announced on Thursday. Molly McShane and Kameron Klauber were named to the New England East Region First Team while Keri Dixon and Alex Wright were Second Team picks.

McShane, who was the Player of the Year in the region a year ago, garnered the second All-New England nod of her two-year career. A two-time New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) All-Conference selection, McShane      has helped lead the Engineers to back-to-back appearances in the conference title game, winning the league crown in 2009. McShane led the team in assists with 12 on the season, a total that was good for third in the NEWMAC.

Klauber joined McShane on the First Team, after also collecting NEWMAC accolades earlier this month. The junior forward set Institute records for goals (22) and points (52) in a season, ranking third in the conference in both categories. Klauber had the 13th highest goals per game total in the Nation as well.

Dixon also earned repeat All-Region honors, having been named to the First Team as a junior. The senior was in net for all 15 of MIT's wins this season and allowing just 1.73 goals per game. She finished her career with a record of 39-22 and a 1.82 career goals against average, second-best in program history.

Wright was the final All-New England honoree. The senior defender has long been a steady presence along the MIT back-line but had a breakout offensive campaign this year, scoring the first seven goals of her career, including a season-high, four-goal outburst against Clark. The senior captain was a Second Team All-Conference pick in 2009 and has been named to the NFHCA National Academic squad on two occasions.

In addition to the four MIT selections, NEWMAC student-athletes dominated the All-Region squad, accounting for 26 of the 32 First and Second Team spots.