Klauber, McShane Earn All-America Nods

Klauber, McShane Earn All-America Nods

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – For just the second time in program history, and first since 1998, the MIT field hockey team had two selections to the Division III All-America team as selected by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA). Senior Kameron Klauber (Carlsbad, Calif.) and junior Molly McShane (Lake Bluff, Ill.) collected the All-America nods, with Klauber landing on the first team. McShane has now earned All-America honors in each of her first three seasons with the Cardinal and Gray, thanks to her second team selection.

Klauber, who was also named the NFHCA New England East regional Player of the Year on Tuesday, led Tech in goals (25), assists (22) and points (72), setting new single-season program highs for all three. The senior, who was voted as the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Athlete of the Year and a first team all-conference honoree, led all of Division III this year with 0.96 assists per game and is eighth in points per game.

Klauber closed out her outstanding career as MIT's all-time leader in goals (55) and points (145), despite playing just three seasons.

McShane, who last year became the first player in program history to make two appearances on the All-America squad, adds to her impressive resume with this selection. The 2009 NFHCA regional Player of the Year, McShane has provided a steady presence in the MIT midfield over her first three seasons.

McShane totaled seven points on three goals and one assist as a junior. Her biggest score came when the Engineers needed it most, netting the game-tying goal with just 1:21 to go in the NEWMAC championship game, as Tech would go on to win in overtime to advance to the NCAA Division III tournament.

In addition to Klauber and McShane, teammates Molly Duffy (New Providence, N.J.), Anna Teruya (Hockessin, Del.), Kimberly Barker (Camden, N.Y.) and Maddy Wharton (Swarthmore, Pa.) earned all-region accolades last week. Mount Holyoke senior Shara Robertson and Clark junior Mel Melkonian joined Klauber and McShane on the All-America squad from the NEWMAC.