Field Hockey Garners Academic Recognition from NFHCA

Field Hockey Garners Academic Recognition from NFHCA

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Six student-athletes from the MIT field hockey team were named to the National Academic Squad by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) on Monday. In addition to the individual accolades, MIT also received the National Academic Team award from the NFHCA for their cumulative success in the classroom.

Juniors Michelle Dion (Lunenburg, Mass.) and Molly McShane (Lake Bluff, Ill.) were tabbed to the National Academic squad for the second consecutive season. Seniors Katie Kauffman (Olney, Md.) and Kameron Klauber (Carlsbad, Calif.) and sophomores Michelle Teplensky (Somers, N.Y.) and Maddy Wharton (Swarthmore, Pa.) were recognized for the first time.

To be eligible for the National Academic squad, student-athletes must have achieved a cumulative 3.30 grade point average through the first semester of the 2011-12 academic year. The National Academic Team award is given to those institutions that achieve a minimum 3.0 team GPA during the 2011 fall semester. This marks the 10th consecutive season, in which MIT has been honored.

Tech had its most successful season in program history in 2011, winning a program record 19 games while advancing to the quarterfinals of the NCAA Division III tournament before falling to reigning national champion, Bowdoin College. The Engineers also won their second New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) championship in three years, in dramatic, come-from-behind fashion, against Mount Holyoke College.

McShane and Klauber were selected to the NFHCA Division III All-America team while Wharton was an all-region honoree.