MIT Field Hockey Receives NFHCA Academic Accolades

Team photo
Courtesy of Gil Talbot

Gilbert, Ariz. (March 29) – The MIT field hockey team had 12 student-athletes claim a spot on the National Academic squad, with one being named a Scholar of Distinction, as announced by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA). In addition, the Engineers collected their 16th straight National Academic Team Award by achieving a minimum 3.0 team GPA on a 4.0 scale during the 2017 fall semester.

To be eligible for the National Academic Squad, student-athletes must have achieved a cumulative GPA of 3.30 through the first semester of the 2017-18 academic year. Seniors Amanda Lowery (Encinitas, Calif.) and Ellen Mulé (Alexandria, Va.) earned their third consecutive selections while seniors Anna Neuman (Abingdon, Md.), Katie Notarangelo (Foxboro, Mass.), and Emily Penn (Columbia, Md.) along with juniors Allie Shepard (Wexford, Pa.) and Katherine Stoll (Avon, Conn.) were repeat qualifiers. First-time honorees for MIT were junior Bailey Tregoning (Frederick, Md.) and sophomores Devon Goetz (Rockville, Md.), Taylor Grey (Horsham, Pa.), Rayna Higuchi (Solana Beach, Calif.), and Jacqueline Liao (Great Neck, N.Y.).

Higuchi was also tabbed for Scholar of Distinction accolades, which recognizes student-athletes with a cumulative GPA of 3.9 or higher through the first semester of the 2017-18 academic year. A total of 13 MIT student-athletes have earned a spot on this list since the award was established in 2012 with Higuchi being the Engineers' first qualifier since 2014.

For the latest on MIT Athletics, follow the Engineers via social media on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.