Women’s Soccer Ties Program Record with 17 NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Selections

Women’s Soccer Ties Program Record with 17 NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Selections

Westwood, Mass. (November 3) – The No. 13 nationally-ranked MIT women's soccer team has tied a program record by placing 17 student-athletes on the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Academic All-Conference team this fall.

Not only did the Engineers tie the single season record for most honorees with the 2014 team, MIT also led the conference in selection as the second most came from Mount Holyoke College, which had 14 honorees, among the 93 total student-athletes from around the league who were named Academic All-Conference selections.

Seniors Jillian Dressler (Harrison, N.Y.), Jane Fessenden (Orinda, Calif.) and Julia Goupil (Los Altos, Calif.) earned their third straight NEWMAC Academic All-Conference accolades, while juniors Sarah DiIorio (Scotch Plains, N.Y.), Lucy Halperin (Seattle, Wash.), Allie Hrabchak (Princeton, N.J.), Shannon Miller (Pittsford, N.Y.), Lily Mueller (Lakeville, Minn.), Hailey Nichols (Boulder, Colo.), Chris Sacha (Mount Pleasant, S.C.) and Jacqueline Simmons (Houston, Texas) were repeat selections. Senior Olivia Struckman (Scottsdale, Ariz.), junior Amy Apostol (Los Gatos, Calif.) as well as sophomores Lily Bailey (Danvers, Mass.), Emily Berzolla (Riverside, Conn.), Chessa Hoekstra (Portland, Maine) and Montana Reilly (Los Angeles, Calif.) all made the list for the first time.

Honorees must have met the following criteria to be eligible: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of a 3.5/4.0 scale or a 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2016 spring semester, achieved second-year academic status at their institution and been a member of the varsity team for the entire season.

No. 13 MIT (17-1-1) will play in and host the NEWMAC Women's Soccer Championship game on Sunday, November 5 at 1:00 p.m. against either third-seeded Babson College or fourth-seeded Springfield College. The Engineers will be making their second straight appearance in the title game and will play for the championship trophy on Sunday for the sixth time in program history. MIT has won three previous NEWMAC titles – with the last one coming in 2011.

For the latest on MIT Athletics, follow the Engineers via social media on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.