Springfield Leads After Day One of NEWMAC Swimming & Diving Championships

Springfield Leads After Day One of NEWMAC Swimming & Diving Championships

Courtesy of Wellesley Sports Information

WELLESLEY, Mass. - Despite capturing only one of six titles on the first day of the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference Women's Swimming and Diving Championships, Springfield College leads the field with a score of 293. MIT trails with 213 points, while Wheaton follows in third with a score of 153.

In the 200-free relay, the Springfield foursome of Kaitlin Reilly, Aimee Doe, Jaclyn Van Waalwijk, and Caroline Kosciusko combined for a time of 1:37.96 to take the NEWMAC title and earn first-team All-Conference honors.

Coast Guard's Kimberly Shadwick jumped to an early lead in the 500-free and pulled away to take the crown in a NEWMAC record of 4:58.50, which also meets the NCAA "A" standard. Springfield College, meanwhile, racked up 67 points in the event, as the Pride placed 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 6th, 11th.

The 200-IM also saw a conference record and "A" standard performance, as MIT first-year Anna Kokensparger captured the title with a blistering 2:04:90. Once again, Springfield's depth paid off, as they placed three swimmers in the top eight. Minutes later, another MIT swimmer mounted the podium, as Amy Jacobi took the 50-free title with an NCAA "B" standard time of 24.11.

In the one-meter diving finals, Clark's Eileen Garcia totaled 464.75 to take the title. Springfield College again piled up points, taking 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th in the one-meter competition. Rounding out the day's action, MIT won its third event of the day, taking the 400-medley relay as Sarah Scodel, Lauren Lo, Jacobi, and Kokensparger combined for a 3:59.07, just edging out Coast Guard (3:59.41) and Wheaton (3:59.84). Tomorrow's prelims begin at 11:00 a.m., with the finals beginning at 6:30 pm.


Team Standings

Springfield 293
MIT 213
Wheaton 153
Coast Guard 137
Clark 130
Wellesley 90
Mount Holyoke 72
WPI 59
Babson 43
Smith 36

Event Winners/First Team All-Conference

200 Free Relay, Springfield College
(Kaitlin Reilly, Aimee Doe, Jaclyn Van Waalwijk, Caroline Kosciusko), 1:37.96+

500 Free, Kimberly Shadwick (Coast Guard), 4:58.50*!

200 IM, Anna Kokensparger (MIT), 2:04.90*!

50 Free, Amy Jocobi (MIT), 24.11+

400 Medley Relay, MIT
(Sarah Scodel, Lauren Lo, Amy Jacobi, Anna Kokensparger), 3:59.07+

One-Meter Diving, Eileen Garcia (Clark), 464.75

* NEWMAC record
+ NCAA "B"/provisional standard
! NCAA "A" standard