Dawn Dill Named NEWMAC Women’s Swimming Coach of the Year

Dawn Dill Named NEWMAC Women’s Swimming Coach of the Year

Cambridge, Mass. – MIT coach Dawn Dill has been named the women's swimming coach of the year in the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC). Dill was one of several representatives from MIT honored with NEWMAC post-season awards, announced by the conference office on Thursday, along with men's swimmers Wyatt Ubellacker and Colby Dunn.

Dill lead the MIT women's swimming and diving team to its first ever NEWMAC Championship last weekend, ending a 10-year winning streak by the Springfield Pride. Dill also coached the men's team that won its third straight conference title, crushing the field at the Zesiger Pool.

This is Dill's fourth time being tabbed NEWMAC coach of the year since joining the Engineers in 2003. She was the women's coach of the year in 2005-06 and won back to back awards on the men's side the past two seasons.

A big part of MIT's men's team's stellar season was the swimming of Wyatt Ubellacker, and the sophomore was honored with NEWMAC swimmer of the year accolades at the end of the championship meet.  Ubellacker placed first and earned NCAA "B" cuts in the 50 freestyle, 400 medley relay, 200 medley relay, 100 butterfly, and 400 freestyle relay. He also captured third place in the 100 freestyle for his sixth NCAA provisional qualification.

Freshman Colby Dunn earned the third major award for the Engineers when he was named the NEWMAC Rookie of the Year. Dunn registered first-place finishes in the 400 medley relay, 200 freestyle, 800 freestyle relay, the 100 freestyle, and the 400 freestyle relay. He earned an automatic NCAA qualification standard in the 200 freestyle while provisionally qualifying four times. He also picked up points for the Engineers in the 50 freestyle courtesy of a third-place finish.


2010-11 NEWMAC Swimming and Diving Awards

Men's Swimmer of the Year - Wyatt Ubellacker, MIT

Women's Swimmer of the Year - Kellie Pennington, Springfield

Men's Diver of the Year - Brooks Farrar, Springfield

Women's Diver of the Year - Eileen Garcia, Clark

Men's Rookie of the Year - Colby Dunn, MIT

Women's Rookie of the Year - Kellie Pennington, Springfield

Men's Swimming Coach of the Year - Paul Phillips, Clark

Women's Swimming Coach of the Year - Dawn Dill, MIT

Men's Diving Coach of the Year - Peter Avdoulos, Springfield

Women's Diving Coach of the Year - Laura O'Tell, Clark

Men's Sportsmanship Award - Clark

Women's Sportsmanship Award - Mount Holyoke