MIT Stays On Top After Day Two of NEWMAC Swimming & Diving Championships

MIT Stays On Top After Day Two of NEWMAC Swimming & Diving Championships

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – On the second day of the 2012 New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference Swimming and Diving Championships, MIT's sixth-ranked women's swimming and diving squad maintained its advantage over Springfield College as the Engineers won six of seven races. With the wins the Engineers pushed their advantage to 137 points, taking a 681-544 lead over the Pride going into tomorrow's final day of competition.

In the first event of the evening, the 200 Medley Relay, MIT's squad of freshman Eann Tuan (Richardson, Texas), sophomore Calley Murphy (Bloomfield Hills, Mich.), junior Anna Kokensparger (Omaha, Neb.) and senior Michelle Cunningham (Wayland, Mass.) gave the Engineers a good start as they took home the title with a NEWMAC meet and open record as well as an NCAA B cut time of 1:44.75.

Sophomore Katelyn Rossick (Middletown, Md.) picked up her first individual victory of the meet in the 400 IM, turning in an NCAA B cut time of 4:32.25. Kokensparger continued her strong meet in the 100 Fly, finishing second to Springfield's Kellie Pennington by just 0.19 with a 56.02, which was just 0.11 shy of an NCAA A cut.

Freshman Emily Ryan (Indianapolis, Ind.) won her second title of the meet in the 200 Free putting up an NCAA B cut time of 1:52.47.

MIT added some breathing room between itself and Springfield in the 100 Breast where the Engineers took three of the top four places. Murphy took the top spot with an NCAA B cut time of 1:04.96, with sophomore Morganne Klein taking second in 1:06.60. Sophomore Nora Darago (Thousand Oaks, Calif.) finished fourth for the Engineers.

In the 100 Back the Engineers duplicated their finish in the 100 Breast, taking three of the top four spots again. Sophomore Christy Rogers (Bend, Ore.) had an outstanding race, breaking her own meet record, setting a NEWMAC open record and turning in an NCAA A cut time with her effort of 56.17. Tuan finished third, while freshman Jane He (Yardley, Pa.) took fourth for MIT.

MIT big at the end of the night in the 800 Free Relay. MIT's team of Rossick, Ryan, freshman Nicole Ozinkowski (Saline, Mich.) and Kokensparger saw Springfield take an early lead of 4.25 seconds on the first leg, but Ryan led the charge back, overcoming all of the deficit and then some, handing Ozinkowski a lead of over two seconds that the Engineers did not relinquish. MIT took the win in a B cut time of 7:37.80.

MIT will be go for its second straight NEWMAC championship tomorrow evening. Preliminary heats will start at 10 a.m., with consolation and championship races starting at 6:30 p.m.