MIT Women Repeat as NEWMAC Swimming & Diving Champions

MIT Women Repeat as NEWMAC Swimming & Diving Champions

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – It was an impressive performance for the MIT women's swimming and diving team as the Engineers led from the start on Friday and won their second straight New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference swimming and diving title. Freshman Emily Ryan (Indianapolis, Ind.) won three individual events and was a part of a winning relay and was named the NEWMAC Women's Rookie of the Year. MIT totaled 960 points to win its championship, with Springfield College coming in second with 821.5 points.

Ryan kicked off the last day with an impressive victory in the women's 1,650 Free, crushing the MIT and NEWMAC meet records with a time of 17:06.26, which is also an NCAA B cut.

MIT scored a 1-2 in the 200 Back as sophomore Christy Rogers (Bend, Ore.) bettered her own Institute mark as well as setting a meet record and getting an NCAA B cut time with her effort of 2:04.22 to win it. Freshman Jane He (Yardley, Pa.) also swam a B cut time, taking second in 2:06.66.

In the 200 Breast the duo of sophomore Calley Murphy (Bloomfield Hills, Mich.) and sophomore Morganne Klein (Campbell Hall, N.Y.) repeated their 1-2 finish in the 100 Breast on Saturday. Murphy touched the wall in 2:25.67, while Klein clocked a 2:26.15. Junior Anna Kokensparger (Omaha, Neb.) achieved a B cut time with her 2:06.90 performance for second-place in the 200 Fly.

In the 400 Freestyle Relay, MIT capped off its championship with an impressive performance. The team of Rogers, freshman Michelle Cunningham (Wayland, Mass.), junior Elina Hu (Oshkosh, Wis.) and Kokensparger blazed their way to a school and NEWMAC meet and open record of 3:27.80, which is also an NCAA B cut time.


Final  Women's scores

1. MIT                     960

2. Springfield         821.5

3. Wellesley             430

4. Coast Guard      353.5

5. Wheaton            335.5

6. Clark                 274.5           

7. Babson                183

8. Smith                   159

8. WPI                     151

9. Mount Holyoke      143