MIT Women's Swimming & Diving Remain in First After Day Two of NEWMAC Champs

Sophomore Jane He
Sophomore Jane He

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - With day two of the 2013 New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Swimming and Diving championships completed, the MIT women's team maintained the lead that they had established the day before. The Engineers won six of the seven events, bringing their point total to 718. Springfield College remains in second place with 424 points.

To start of the night, MIT's 200-yard medley B relay touched first in the consolation heat with a time of 1:47.36, finishing over two seconds ahead of Wellesley's B relay. In the championship final, the A relay won with a time of 1:43.89, finishing less than half a second ahead of Springfield. The relay, that was built up of junior Christy Rogers (Bend, Ore.), freshmen Kristen Finney (Lake Orion, Mich.) and Katie Siegel (San Jose, Calif.), and senior Anna Kokensparger (Omaha, Neb.) crushed the NEWMAC meet and open records that MIT had set the year before and earned an NCAA A cut in the process

Junior Katelyn Rossick (Middletown, Md.) touched in second place in the 400-yard individual medley with a time of 4:32.36, easily earning a B cut. Sophomore Taylor Pearl (Solon, Ohio) was fourth with a 4:36.13 and freshman Sydney Hodges (Richmond, Texas) finished in eighth with her time of 4:44.06. In the 100-yard butterfly, Siegel won with a time of 55.56, narrowly beating the NEWMAC meet record of 55.66 that was set back in 2010. Classmates Danielle Garside (Broomfield, Colo.) and Sarah Osmulski (Rumson, N.J.) came in third and fourth with times of 57.78 and 57.95 respectively. Senior Elina Hu (Oshkosh, Wis.) was sixth with a 58.66.

In the 200-yard freestyle, Kokensparger won the event from lane 8 with a time of 1:51.30, breaking the meet record of 1:51.66 from 2010. Freshman Kate Yu (San Jose, Calif.) was third with her time of 1:54.30, sophomore Emmie Ryan (Indianapolis, Ind.) came fifth in 1:54.70 and freshman Margaret Guo (San Diego, Calif.) was eighth with a 1:56.99. Finney secured her first win of the weekend in the 100-yard breaststroke, turning in a time of 1:05.62. Sophomore Michelle Cunningham (Wayland, Mass.) finished in fourth place with a time of 1:06.95.


MIT took the top three spots in the 100-yard backstroke, with Rogers touching first in 57.01, Garside finishing in second with a 57.55 and Siegel coming in third with a 58.23. All three Engineers earned B cuts. Sophomore Eann Tuan (Richardson, Texas) came in fifth with a 59.70.

In the final event of the second day, the 800-yard freestyle relay, the MIT B relay touched first in the consolation heat with a time of 7:52.67. The A relay, that consisted of Ryan, Yu, junior Joanna Yeh (Frederick, Md.) and Kokensparger, won the championship final with a time of 7:36.80, just off the NEWMAC meet record from 2011.

Day three will commence tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. with the preliminary heats of the women's 200-yard backstroke. That will be followed by the 100-yard freestyle, 200-yard breaststroke, 200-yard butterfly, 400-yard freestyle relay and the 1650-yard freestyle. The consolation and championship finals for these events, as well as the finals for women's 3-meter and men's 1-meter diving, will take place tomorrow night, starting at 6:00 p.m.

Women's Scores Day Two

1. MIT                           718
2. Springfield                424                
3. Wellesley                  299
4. Coast Guard              220
5. Mount Holyoke          207
6. Wheaton                   189
7. Clark                         119
8. WPI                          118
9. Babson                     103                         
10.Smith                       83