Women's Swimming & Diving Repeat as NEWMAC Champions

Women's Swimming & Diving Repeat as NEWMAC Champions

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - MIT's women's swimming and diving team successfully defended its title at the 2013 New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) championship that wrapped up on Sunday evening. The Engineers won 13 events, earned three NCAA A cuts, 21 B cuts and broke six NEWMAC records, scoring 1021 points, about 80 more than they scored last year. They claimed their third straight title, leaving a large gap between them and Springfield College, who finished in second place with 740 points. At the end of the meet, Samantha Pitter was named the Women's Swimming Coach of the Year.

Junior Sarah Weiss (Edina, Minn.) started the night off with her sixth place finish in the 1650-yard freestyle, turning in a time of 18:07.95. In the next event, the 200-yard backstroke, MIT saw four swimmers finish in the top eight. Junior Christy Rogers (Bend, Ore.) came into the wall first, defending her title from last year with a time of 2:04.70. She was followed by sophomore Jane He (Yardley, Pa.) with a 2:06.70, both earning B cuts. Freshman Kate Yu (San Jose, Calif.) came in third with a 2:07.34 and freshman Danielle Garside (Broomfield, Colo.) finished in seventh with a time of 2:10.26.

In the 100-yard freestyle, freshman Katie Siegel (San Jose, Calif.) took the win in the consolation heat with her time of 52.96 and was followed by classmate Anna Leonard (Rogersville, Mo.), who came in 16th place overall with her time of 54.87. In the championship final, fellow freshman Lena Yang (East Stroudsburg, Pa.) finished in second place with her time of 51.90, less than half a second behind Springfield's Kellie Pennington. Senior Elina Hu (Oshkosh, Wis.) came in third in 52.17, junior Joanna Yeh (Frederick, Md.) was fourth with a 52.75 and sophomore Michelle Cunningham (Wayland, Mass.) touched in sixth place, turning in a time of 53.21.

Freshman Kristen Finney (Lake Orion, Mich.) won her second individual event for the weekend in the 200-yard breaststroke with her time of 2:22.80. Fellow freshman Sydney Hodges (Richmond, Texas) came in third place in 2:25.60. Senior Anna Kokensparger (Omaha, Neb.) won yet another event, this time the 200-yard butterfly, with her time of 2:05.28, finishing well under the B cut. Freshman Sarah Osmulski (Rumson, N.J.) came in third with a 2:11.34 and junior Katelyn Rossick (Middletown, Md.) was sixth in 2:12.76.

To close out the meet, the MIT 400-yard freestyle B relay touched first in the consolation heat with a time of 3:30.89. In the championship final, the A relay, that consisted of Yang, Hu, Rossick and Kokensparger, set a new meet and open record with their time of 3:27.63, finishing five seconds under the B cut.

MIT will next compete in the NCAA championship from March 20-23.


Women's Final Team Scores

1. MIT                           1021

2. Springfield                740

3. Wellesley                  457

4. Coast Guard              358

5. Mount Holyoke          286

6. Wheaton                   263

7. Clark                         213

8. WPI                          212

9. Smith                        180

10. Babson                   145