Engineers Sit in 8th Place After 3rd Day of NCAAs

Sophomore Emmie Ryan
Sophomore Emmie Ryan

SHENANDOAH, Texas - At finals on the third day of competition at the NCAA Division III Swimming and Diving Championship, senior Anna Kokensparger (Omaha, Neb.) represented the MIT women's swimming and diving team in the championship final of the 200-yard butterfly. She finished in sixth place with a time of 2:02.27. Also swimming at night was the 800-yard freestyle relay, which came tenth in 7:36.44. The Engineers remain in eighth place, raising their point total to 116. Stevens Institute of Technology is seventh with 127. Emory maintains the lead with 428.5.

In the preliminary session of the 200 fly, Kokensparger finished fifth overall with a 2:03.88, taking exactly a second off her time that earned her a first place finish at the NEWMAC championship last month. At finals, she took off yet another second, finishing in sixth place with a 2:02.27. She easily broke her own MIT school record of 2:03.79 from the 2009-10 season.

To end the evening, junior Joanna Yeh (Frederick, Md.), freshman Kate Yu (San Jose, Calif.), sophomore Emmie Ryan (Indianapolis, Ind.) and Kokensparger competed in the 800 free relay. With their time of 7:32.91, the Engineers were seeded eighth. At finals, the quartet finished tenth with a 7:36.44, knocking a few tenths of a second off their time from NEWMACs.

At prelims, junior Katelyn Rossick (Middletown, Md.) swam the 200 fly, finishing in 30th with a 2:10.72. Junior Christy Rogers (Bend, Ore.) and freshman Katie Siegel (San Jose, Calif.) swam the 100-yard backstroke. Rogers finished in 23rd with a 57.16, just off her time from NEWMACs, and Siegel came in 29th in 57.59. Freshman Kristen Finney (Lake Orion, Mich.) competed in the 100-yard breaststroke, finishing in 25th with a 1:08.74.

The fourth and final day of NCAAs will commence tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. with the 1650-yard freestyle, 100-yard freestyle, 200-yard backstroke, 200-yard breaststroke and the 400-yard freestyle. Prelims will start at 10:00 a.m. CDT/11:00 a.m. EST and finals will begin at 6:00 p.m. CDT/7:00 p.m. EST.

Live stats-