Engineers Prepare for 2014 NCAA Champs

Junior Emmie Ryan
Junior Emmie Ryan

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. Nine members of the MIT women's swimming and diving team will be heading to Indianapolis, Ind. for the 2014 NCAA Division III Championships, which will take place at the IU Natatorium at IUIPUI from Wednesday, March 19 through Saturday, March 22. Tech will be looking to improve on its eight place finish at the last two Championships.

Senior Christy Rogers (Bend, Ore.), who ended up winning two individual events, setting a meet record in one of them, and leading off the winning 200-yard medley relay at the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Championship last month, qualified in all three of her events. She is seeded 24th in the 50-yard freestyle, 15th in the 100-yard backstroke and 10th in the 200-yard backstroke. The only other senior to qualify was Joanna Yeh (Frederick, Md.), who will swim the 200-yard freestyle on the second day of the meet.

MIT's first individual competitor is junior Emmie Ryan (Avon, Ind.), who is seeded 21st in the 500-yard freestyle on Wednesday morning. She will also swim the 200 free on Thursday and the 1650-yard freestyle on the final day of the meet. Sophomore Kristen Finney (Lake Orion, Mich.) will compete in the 200-yard IM and the 100 and 200-yard breaststroke, while classmate Sarah Osmulski (Rumson, N.J.) will race in the 100 and 200-yard butterfly.

Tech's lone freshman qualifier, Veronika Jedryka (Arlington Heights, Ill.), is the highest seeded Engineer, sitting in fifth in the 200 back. She is also seeded in 24th in the 200 free and 17th in the 100 back.

All five of the Engineers relays qualified for NCAAs. The highest seeded ones are the 800-yard freestyle relay and the 400-yard freestyle relay, which are both eighth. Junior Michelle Cunningham (Wayland, Mass.), and sophomores Katherine Yu (San Jose, Calif.) and Lena Yang (East Stroudsburg, Pa.) will take part in one or two relays apiece.

MIT will kick off the four-day, eight-session meet on Wednesday with the 500 free, which is set to start at 10:00 a.m.