No. 6 MIT Women's Swimming and Diving Competes in Second Day of NEWMAC Championship

No. 6 MIT Women's Swimming and Diving Competes in Second Day of NEWMAC Championship

WORCESTER, Mass. – After concluding the first day of the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Swimming and Diving Championships in first place, the sixth-ranked MIT women's swimming and diving team distanced themselves on the second day, tallying a team score of 497 points. The Cardinal and Gray concluded the evening session by winning both relays and sweeping the top two spots in a pair of individual events.

Senior Michelle Cunningham (Wayland, Mass.), juniors Sarah Osmulski (Rumson, N.J.) and Lena Yang (East Stroudsburg, Pa.), and freshman Amanda Wu (Cedar Park, Texas) engineered a first-place performance in the 200-yard freestyle relay, clocking a time of 1:34.92. The time was a 2015 NCAA B cut and would have qualified for last year's NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships

In the 400-yard medley relay, senior Emmie Ryan (Avon, Ind.), junior Margaret Guo (San Diego, Calif.), sophomore Veronika Jedryka (Arlington Heights, Ill.) and freshman Jessica Chen (Rockville, Md.) collaborated for a first place finish with a time of 3:51.13. Their time achieved a B cut.

Wu and Jedryka finished first and second in the 50-yard freestyle, recording times of 23.73 and 23.79, respectively. Both times were B cuts.

Ryan captured the 500-yard freestyle with a time of 5:00.20, while freshman Mary Thielking (Fishers, Ind.) finished the event in second place (5:01.14). Both times were B cuts.

In the 200-yard IM, freshman Joanna Han (Marlboro, N.J.) recorded a second-place performance, touching the wall in 2:06.93. Han's time was a B cut and roughly one second behind Mount Holyoke junior Cathleen Pruden.

MIT returns to the pool tomorrow for the third day of competition and will compete in the 400-yard IM, 100-yard butterfly, 200-yard freestyle, 100-yard breaststroke, 100-yard backstroke and 200-yard medley relay.. Trials will begin at 10:00 a.m., while finals will occur at 6:00 p.m.