Ten Women's Swimmers Selected to Compete at NCAA Division III Championship

Ten Women's Swimmers Selected to Compete at NCAA Division III Championship

Cambridge, Mass. (March 1) - After winning its eighth straight New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) crown last weekend, the No. 7 MIT women's swimming and diving team will have ten swimmers represented at the 2018 NCAA Division III Championship, which is scheduled to take place at the IU Natatorium on the campus of IUPUI in Indianapolis from March 21-24, 2018.

The NCAA Division III Men's and Women's Swimming and Diving Committee announced the participants unofficially last night.

Senior co-captain Jessica Chen (Rockville, Md.) will be making her fourth straight appearance at the NCAA Division III Championship, while classmate and co-captain Mary Thielking (Fishers, Ind.) will be competing at nationals for the third time in her career. 

Three Engineers will be making their second appearance at the NCAA Division III Championship including Kayla Holman (Menlo Park, Calif.), Lilia Staszel (Brighton, Mich.), Nanette Wu (Cupertino, Calif.) and Priscilla Wu (Cincinnati, Ohio), while freshmen Kailey Allen (Tacoma, Wash.), Hannah Mahaffey (Lawrenceville, Ga.), Sara Nicholas (Wilmette, Ill.) and Ashley Pearson (Stafford, Va.) will compete on the national stage for the first time ever.

On top of the ten individual swimmers who will compete in Indianapolis in three weeks, all five MIT relay teams qualified for the championship competition and are all seeded within the top-ten in each event. The 200-medley relay is seeded the highest (sixth - 1:43.45), while the 400-medley relay is seeded eighth with a time of 3:47.60. The 200-free relay (1:34.30), 400-free relay (3:27.80) and the 800-free relay (7:32.53) are all seeded tenth.

Swimmers are allowed to compete in as many as three individual events at NCAA's overall. For events in which they were not selected as qualifiers, they need to have posted an NCAA "B" cut time over the course of the regular season. 

The top-eight finishers in each event earn All-America honors, while ninth through 16th are named as honorable mention All-Americans.

On each of the four days of competition, trials will begin at 10:00 a.m. and finals will kick off at 6:00 p.m.

For the latest on MIT Athletics, follow the Engineers via social media on TwitterFacebookInstagram and YouTube