Thornton and Holbrook to Represent MIT at NCAA Championships

Thornton and Holbrook to Represent MIT at NCAA Championships

March 6, 2007

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - Senior Katherine Thornton and junior Doria Holbrook have been rewarded for their stellar seasons with the opportunity to represent MIT at the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Swimming and Diving National Championships, which will take place in Houston, Texas, from Thursday, Mar. 8 to Saturday, Mar. 10. The meet will be hosted by the University of Houston.

Thornton has earned the right to participate in three freestyle events - one on each day of the competition. On Thursday, she will take part in the 500-yard freestyle, in which she is seeded 27th in the nation. The El Cajon, Calif., native will then return to the pool on Friday to swim the 200-yard freestyle with a national ranking of 36th, before closing out the Championships on Saturday in her strongest event, the 1650-yard freestyle. She will tote a national ranking of 8th into that event. This will be Thornton's second straight year representing the Cardinal and Gray at Nationals, as she was in Minneapolis, Minn., last year to swim in the 400-yard medley relay, the 800-yard freestyle relay and the 1650-yard freestyle (in which she placed 17th).

Holbrook will participate in both the one-meter and three-meter diving competitions, just as she has in each of her previous two years as an Engineer. In her freshman season of 2005, the native of Yakima, Wash., became MIT's first ever National Champion in swimming and diving by notching first-place in the three-meter competition, while also earning All-America honors by finishing third in the one-meter. Then, last year, she notched All-America status in both events once again, as she was second in the three-meter and fourth in the one-meter. This year, the one-meter competition will take place on Thursday, while the three-meter competition will span both Friday and Saturday.

Tech finished 20th at the National Championships last season, while Emory University notched its second consecutive title.