Quisenberry is NEWMAC Athlete, Rookie of the Year; Hsu Named All-Conference

Quisenberry is NEWMAC Athlete, Rookie of the Year; Hsu Named All-Conference

Cambridge, Mass.Lauren Quisenberry has received double honors in the 2010 New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) women's tennis postseason awards. Quisenberry has been named the NEWMAC athlete of the year, earning her the number one singles spot on the All-Conference First Team. The freshman from Corpus Christi, Texas was also named NEWMAC Rookie of the Year in the vote by the eight women's tennis coaches from across the conference. Julia Hsu, the Engineer's second singles player, has been honored as well with a spot on the All-Conference second team.

Quisenberry had a perfect season at first singles for the Engineers. She went 9-0 in all dual matches, 8-0 in NEWMAC play, including a win in the conference tournament semi-finals. In her eight conference victories, she never dropped a set and lost four games only once. Her path to perfection included an upset over Tufts' Julia Browne, the defending national champion for women's singles at the Division III level.

Hsu, a freshman from Knoxville, Tennessee, earned the second team All-Conference nod at the position that she occupied all season for MIT. Hsu had a stellar season, winning six of the seven matches she played at number two singles. Her resume includes convincing wins over Clark, Smith, and Mount Holyoke and an impressive victory over Wellesley's Erica Choo in the regular season.

Quisenberry and Hsu also played together in the first doubles slot for MIT. The pair went 6-1 in NEWMAC doubles regular season play, with their only loss coming to Wheaton's Sarah Geocaris and Catherine Teague. Quisenberry and Hsu also took a point for MIT in the Engineer's conference tournament defeat to Wellesley College. For their performance, the freshman tandem was named as the #1 doubles pair in the second team All-Conference.

Lynn Miller, of Wheaton College, was named NEWMAC coach of the year. The Lyons went 11-1 (7-0) in the NEWMAC and swept through the conference tournament en route to winning their second straight NEWMAC post-season title. Clark University received the 2010 NEWMAC sportsmanship award.  


2010 Women's Tennis All-Conference Team and Award Winners:  


NEWMAC Athlete of the Year:

Lauren Quisenberry, MIT


NEWMAC Rookie of the Year:

Lauren Quisenberry, MIT


NEWMAC Coach of the Year:

Lynn Miller, Wheaton


NEWMAC Sportsmanship Award:



First Team All-Conference

#1 Singles- Lauren Quisenberry, MIT

#2 Singles- Sarah Geocaris, Wheaton

#3 Singles- Lyndsay Cooke, Wheaton

#4 Singles- Allesandra DiOrio, Wheaton

#5 Singles- Diana Granger, Wellesley

#6 Singles- Morgan Johnstonbaugh, Wellesley

                       Ellen Van Faasen, Wheaton


#1 Doubles- Sarah Geocaris & Catherine Teague, Wheaton

#2 Doubles- Lyndsay Cooke & Madison Hartley, Wheaton

#3 Doubles- Ellen Van Faasen & Allesandra DiOrio, Wheaton


Second Team All-Conference

#1 Singles- Catherine Teague, Wheaton

#2 Singles- Julia Hsu, MIT

#3 Singles- Nathalie Herman, Wellesley

#4 Singles- Monica Mercer, Babson

#5 Singles- Madison Hartley, Wheaton

#6 Singles- N/A


#1 Doubles- Lauren Quisenberry & Julia Hsu, MIT

#2 Doubles- Erica Choo & Kendall Tada, Wellesley

#3 Doubles- Maya Sayarath & Elise Marifian, Mount Holyoke