Carol Matsuzaki Named NEWMAC Women's Tennis Coach of the Year

Carol Matsuzaki Named NEWMAC Women's Tennis Coach of the Year

Oct. 28, 2008

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) announced its 2008 Women's Tennis All-Conference Team on Tuesday. Head coach Carol Matsuzaki was voted the league's Coach of the Year for the fourth time during her career while Leslie Hansen picked up her second NEWMAC Athlete of the Year honor. MIT also came away with the Sportsmanship Award, which is voted upon by the athletes.

In addition to her second straight Athlete of the Year nod, Hansen was a repeat All-Conference First-Team selection at the No. 1 singles and No. 1 doubles spots. Her partner, Anastasia Vishnevetsky, was picked for the First Team in the No. 2 singles position. Yi Wang capped off her career with her fifth and sixth awards, being tabbed for the First Team at No. 4 singles and the Second Team at No. 3 doubles with partner Karina Pikhart. Anisa McCree and Alex Hall both earned spots on the Second Team in the No. 5 and No. 6 singles positions, respectively.

2008 NEWMAC Women's Tennis All-Conference Team and Award Winners

Athlete of the Year: Leslie Hansen, MIT
Rookie of the Year: Marie Watanabe, Wellesley College
Coach of the Year: Carol Matsuzaki, MIT
Sportsmanship Award: MIT

First Team All-Conference
No. 1 Singles: Leslie Hansen, MIT
No. 2 Singles: Anastasia Vishnevetsky, MIT
No. 3 Singles: Shivani Saxena, Wellesley College
No. 4 Singles: Yi Wang, MIT
No. 5 Singles: Nathalie Herman, Wellesley College
No. 6 Singles: Grace Cheng, Wellesley College

No. 1 Doubles: Leslie Hansen and Anastasia Vishnevetsky, MIT
No. 2 Doubles: Marie Watanabe and Grace Cheng, Wellesley College
No. 3 Doubles: Shivani Saxena and Jacqueline Shen, Wellesley College

Second Team All-Conference
No. 1 Singles: Marie Watanabe, Wellesley College
No. 2 Singles: Sarah Geocaris, Wheaton College
No. 3 Singles: Heather Walsh, Babson College
No. 4 Singles: Mohona Siddique, Wellesley College
No. 5 Singles: Anisa McCree, MIT
No. 6 Singles: Alex Hall, MIT

No. 1 Doubles: Sarah Geocaris and Catherine Teague, Wheaton College
No. 2 Doubles: Jess Huang and Kali Hogan, Babson College
No. 3 Doubles: Karina Pikhart and Yi Wang, MIT