MIT Finishes Third At NEWMAC Championship; Wheaton Wins For Eighth Consecutive Year

MIT Finishes Third At NEWMAC Championship; Wheaton Wins For Eighth Consecutive Year

April 29, 2006


CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - The Engineers finished third in the eight team field on Saturday at the 2006 New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Outdoor Track and Field Championship. The women's squad from Wheaton added an eighth consecutive crown to its resume with 211.50 total points to outlast Springfield College (155.50). MIT (141) was led by freshman Emily Hwang and junior Chi-Fong Wang.

Hwang built on her recent success in the pole vault with a mark of 11-01.00 to take first place. Wang was also impressive as she closed out the meet on a good note with the top throw of 129-00 in the javelin.

The competition was highlighted by three multi-event winners. Freshman Chizoba Ezeigwe and junior Jennifer Harlow combined to win four events for Wheaton. Ezeigwe outran her opponents in the 100 (12.30) and 200 meter dash (25.79). Harlow set first place marks in the 100 hurdles (15.23) and the high jump (5-02.00), helping to secure Wheaton's championship win.

Also with two top performances was Smith College senior Katie Walters-Krohn, who repeated in both the shot put (40-00.25) and the discus (120-03). Although Springfield came up short of champion Wheaton, Pride freshman Silvienne Krosendijk provided one of the day's highlights with a record-setting first place mark of 18-11.25 in the long jump.

MIT is back in action next weekend at the New England Division III Championship in Springfield, Massachusetts.

NEWMAC All-Conference First Team
Emily Hwang - Pole Vault
Chi-Fong Wang - Javelin

NEWMAC All-Conference Second Team
Rachel Niehuus - 800, 4x400 Relay
Betsy Eames - 10,000
Leanne Veldhuis - 400 Hurdles, 4x400 Relay
Alisha Schor - 3,000 Steeplechase
Andrea Bradshaw - 4x400 Relay
Ericka Erickson - 4x400 Relay
Christine Fanchiang - Pole Vault
Aline Thomas - Shot Put, Hammer Throw