Taylor and Jones Earn NEWMAC Accolades

Taylor and Jones Earn NEWMAC Accolades

April 29, 2009

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – After helping the MIT women’s track and field team capture Saturday’s New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Championship, Halston Taylor was named the NEWMAC Coach of the Year on Tuesday. In addition to Taylor’s honor, freshman Portia Jones was selected as the NEWMAC Rookie of the Year. Jones secured four All-Conference nods at the Championship meet, as Tech won its second league title in three years. The Engineers picked up 15 All-Conference selections overall.

Jones was a part of two All-Conference relay squads and added two more individual accolades on Saturday. She finished first in the 400 with a time of 57.69 and added a runner-up performance in the 200. She also led off the victorious 4x100m relay and was part of the 4x400 relay that placed second.

Four other Tech runners picked up multiple All-Conference selections on Saturday as well. Jamie Simmons joined Jones on both relay squads and was First Team All-Conference in the 400-meter hurdles. Amy Magnuson anchored the 4x100 squad and also captured the 100m hurdles. Andrea Bradshaw finished first in the 800 while joining Jones, Simmons and Martha Gross on the 4x400 relay. Jacqui Wentz picked up a pair of individual All-Conference honors, finishing as the runner-up to Bradshaw in the 800 while also winning the Steeplechase.

MIT’s other First Team All-Conference performers included Katherine Eve (1500), Anna Holt-Gosselin (5000), Tania Morimoto (10,000), Margaret Leibovic (4x100) and Emily Hwang (Pole Vault). Jennifer Doyle (1500) and Liz Labuz (Steeplechase) were Second Team honorees.

The Cardinal and Grey will look to improve upon these performances at this weekend’s NCAA Division III New England Championship, hosted by Springfield College from Thursday through Saturday.