Women’s Cross Country Captures Fifth Straight NEWMAC Crown

Women’s Cross Country Captures Fifth Straight NEWMAC Crown

BOSTON, Mass. – Ten different runners earned all-conference honors, as the no. five ranked MIT women's cross country team captured its fifth-straight New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) championship on Monday afternoon. The Engineers finished with a team score of 22 points to pull away from second-place Wellesley College, which had a total of 50 points.

Brooke Johnson (Shoreham, N.Y.) was the first harrier through the chute for the Cardinal and Gray, taking second-place in 18:50. Elaine McVay (San Ramon, Calif.) was the next MIT finisher, capturing NEWMAC Rookie of the Year honors as the top freshman finisher, in third place (18:52). Claire O'Connell (Los Altos Hills, Calif.) completed the string of three-straight Tech finishers in fourth with a time of 19:01.

Martina de Gues (Los Altos, Calif.) was two spots and seven seconds behind O'Connell and Dacie Manion () rounded out the scoring for the Cardinal and Gray in seventh place, with a time of 19:09 on the five-kilometer course.

In addition to Tech's top five, scoring runners, Stephanie Marzen (McLean, Va.), Tania Morimoto (Mountain View, Calif.), Sarah Sprague (Marengo, Ill.), Shivani Kaushal (Grand Blanc, Mich.) and Margaret Lloyd (Sacramento, Calif.) earned NEWMAC all-conference accolades by finishing among the top 14.

The Engineers will continue with their championship season in two weeks, at the New England Division III championship, hosted by Bowdoin College on Saturday, November 12.