MIT Cross Country Teams Prepare for New England Regional

MIT Cross Country Teams Prepare for New England Regional

BRUNSWICK, Main – Ranked as two of the top teams in the region, the MIT men's and women's cross country teams will travel to Bowdoin College for this weekend's New England Division III championship. The men will look to defend their regional crown from 2010, while the women hope to return to the top spot in New England after finishing fourth a year ago.

The Tech men, ranked fifth in New England coming into the meet, are led by New England and Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Runner of the Year, Daniel Harper (Naperville, Ill.). Harper finished first overall at the NEWMAC championship two weeks ago with a time of 25:28. In addition to Harper, Roy Wedge (Lawrence, Kan.) and Stephen Serene (Washington, D.C.) return from MIT's top five at last year's regional championship.

Also racing for the men this weekend will be NEWMAC Rookie of the Year, Allen Leung (Arcadia, Calif.), Benjamin Mattocks (Sharon, Mass.), Logan Trimble (Clearwater, Fla.) and senior Andrew Erickson (Shorewood, Wis.).

The third-seeded MIT women return two of their top five from last year's meet, Tania Morimoto (Mountain View, Calif.) and Martina de Gues (Los Altos, Calif.).Also returning after missing most of last year due to injury, will be junior Brooke Johnson (Shoreham, N.Y.). Johnson finished second overall at the NEWMAC championship this year.

NEWMAC Rookie of the Year, Elaine McVay (San Ramon, Cali) leads a group of talented freshmen that coach Halston Taylor hopes can contribute to the squad this weekend. Dacie Manion (Old Town, Maine) and Stephanie Marzen (McLean, Va.) will be running in their first NCAA regional championship. Sarah Sprague (Marengo, Ill) is the final runner in Tech's top seven.

Both squads hope strong showings can help propel them into the NCAA Division III championship, which will be held in Oshkosh, Wis. next weekend.