Women's Cross Country Captures 6th Consecutive NEWMAC Title

Women's Cross Country Captures 6th Consecutive NEWMAC Title

NORTHAMPTON, Mass.  - Number one nationally ranked MIT swept the top eight positions in the 5k course at Smith College on Saturday afternoon, earning the Engineers their sixth consecutive New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) championship title and their eighth overall. The Cardinal and Gray finished with just 15 points, the lowest possible, ahead of last year's runner-up Wellesley with 74 points and host Smith with 124. Senior Brooke Johnson (Shoreham, N.Y.) crossed the line first in 18:30.07, earning her NEWMAC Runner of the Year honors, and sophomore Elaine McVay (San Ramon, Calif.) followed directly behind her with a time of 18:30.85.

Not far behind McVay was freshman Sarah Quinn (Watchung, N.J.), who broke the tape in 18:37.56 and earned Rookie of the Year honors. She was followed by juniors Alexandra Taylor (Harbor Springs, Mich.) and Kaitlin Allen (Bedford, N.H.), freshman Nicole Zeinstra (Holland, Mich.) and sophomore Dacie Manion (Old Town, Maine), who all finished the course within six seconds of each other, taking fourth through seventh place. Junior Martina de Geus (Los Altos, Calif.) completed the course a few seconds later with a time of 19:04.52, narrowly edging out Priyanka Fouda of Wellesley, who finished just two tenths of a second later and was only one of two non-MIT runners to crack the top ten.

MIT continued to cross the line in quick succession: sophomore Kali Benavides (Miami, Fla.) finished in 12th place with a time of 19:09.75, freshman Allison Hallock (Boulder, Colo.) broke the tape in 19:17.45 to earn a 15th place finish, and junior Louise van den Heuvel (Nashua, N.H.) and sophomore Cindy Huang (San Jose, Calif.) finished within three seconds of each other in the 18th and 19th positions.

To watch a video interview with Coach Taylor and Brooke Johnson click here.

The Engineers will continue with their season in two weeks at the New England Regional Championship on November 10.