Taylor Earns NEWMAC Women’s Coach of the Year Honors

Taylor Earns NEWMAC Women’s Coach of the Year Honors
CAMBRIDGE, Mass.  – Halston Taylor was voted as the women's Coach of the Year following MIT's performance at last weekend's New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) championship. The No. 1 nationally-ranked women claimed their sixth consecutive title and the men, who have won every year since the inception of the conference in 1998, secured their 15th title.

The Engineers also captured nine of the 14 All-Conference slots on both squads, including NEWMAC Runner of the Year in senior Brooke Johnson (Shoreham, N.Y.) and Rookie of the Year in freshmen Sarah Quinn (Watchung, N.J.) and Ian Tolan (Binghamton, N.Y.).

On the women's team, Johnson, Elaine McVay (San Ramon, Calif.), Quinn, Alexandra Taylor (Harbor Springs, Mich.), Kaitlin Allen (Bedford, N.H.), Nicole Zeinstra (Holland, Mich.) and Dacie Manion (Old Town, Maine) were named to the First Team, as they were the top seven finishers in the event. Martina de Geus (Los Altos, Calif.) and Kali Benavides (Miami, Fla.) were named to the Second Team for their eighth and 12th place finishes, respectively.

For the men, Roy Wedge (Lawrence, Kan.), Benjamin Mattocks (Sharon, Mass.) and Justin Bullock (Detroit, Mich.) were named to the First Team. Allen Leung (Arcadia, Calif.), Tolan, Edgar Gridello (Douvainer, France), Matthew Jordan (Matthews, N.C.), Benji Xie (El Dorado Hills, Calif.) and Logan Trimble (Clearwater, Fla.) were named to the Second Team.

The Engineers will return to action on Saturday, Nov. 10 when they travel to Westfield, Mass. to compete at the New England Division III Regional Championships.