Halston Taylor Named NEWMAC Women's Cross Country Coach of the Year

Halston Taylor Named NEWMAC Women's Cross Country Coach of the Year

BOSTON, Mass. Head coach Halston Taylor was voted as the women's cross country Coach of the Year following MIT's performance at the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Championship this past weekend. This is the fourth year in a row and the sixth time overall that Taylor has earned this honor. Tech, who was ranked as high as third in the nation this season, claimed its seventh consecutive title and the men, who have won every year since the inception of the conference in 1998, captured their 16th.

MIT earned six of the 14 All-Conference slots, including NEWMAC Runner of the Year in junior Elaine McVay (San Ramon, Calif.) with her first place finish in the 5k with an 18:16.85 and Rookie of the Year in freshman Maryann Gong (Livermore, Calif.) with her time of 18:36.64 that earned her second place. The men also claimed eight of the All-Conference slots, with senior Roy Wedge (Lawrence, Kan.) being named Runner of the Year and freshman Rory Beyer (San Mateo, Calif.) earning Rookie of the Year accolades.

Tech will return to the cross country trail in just under two weeks when it travels to the University of Southern Maine for the second time this season for the New England Division III Regional Championships, which will take place on Saturday, Nov. 16.

Women's All-Conference
Elaine McVay, MIT
Maryann Gong, MIT
Marina Capalbo, Babson
Priyanka Fouda, Wellesley
Christina Wicker, MIT
Brooke Johnson, MIT

Danielle Opatovsky, Smith
Beth Gollin, Coast Guard
Alexandra Taylor, MIT
Louise van den Heuvel, MIT

Gretchen Krause, Coast Guard
Julie Tevenan, WPI
Sonja Cwik, Wellesley
Mary Keenan, Wellesley

Men's All-Conference
Roy Wedge, MIT
Matt Deyo, MIT

Gary Ezzo, Coast Guard
Rory Beyer, MIT
Allen Leung, MIT
Benji Xie, MIT

Zachary Velasquez, Coast Guard
Rob Hollinger, WPI
Joseph O'Connell, Coast Guard
Ian Tolan, MIT
Matt McEachern, MIT
Matt Jordan, MIT

Jon Last, Coast Guard
Stephen Horvath, Coast Guard